The MFS has 20 fire stations in metropolitan Adelaide, stretching from the coastal southern suburb of Seaford to the historic Gawler township in the North.

All metropolitan based fire stations are staffed by full-time firefighters who provide emergency response and recovery 24 hours a day, seven days a week.

The MFS also has a Marine Vessel based at the Royal South Australian Yacht Squadron.