MFS Firefighters awarded Australia Day Honours

MFS Firefighters awarded Australia Day Honours

First published 26 January 2016

Two South Australian Metropolitan Fire Service (MFS) firefighters have been awarded the Australian Fire Service Medal (AFSM) in the 2016 Australia Day Honours.

The AFSM is one of the highest honours an Australian firefighter can receive. It is awarded in recognition of distinguished service by a member of an Australian fire service and in particular, for contributions made above and beyond normal duties and responsibilities.

MFS Image - 2016 AFSM Recipients

Station Officer Adrienne Clarke and Senior Firefighter Scott Roger's commitment and dedication, not only to the MFS but their contribution to the community at large made their nomination an easy decision.

Station Officer Clarke's enthusiasm for the profession of firefighting and her dedication to and active involvement in numerous committees, employee services and especially children's charities, has not only benefited the MFS, but also fellow firefighters of all ranks and the community of South Australia.

Station Officer Clarke is the first female MFS firefighter to receive this honour. During her 28 years' service she has dedicated her time to progressing firefighter's wellbeing and advancing the roles of females in the Fire Service.

Senior Firefighter Roger's nomination came about as a result of his selfless devotion to duty, commitment to the Fire Service and the community and his untiring work in a plethora of tasks and volunteer work.

Senior Firefighter Rogers involvement in organising and participating in the Mother's Day Classic event each year has ensured the advance of research and treatment not only for those diagnosed with Breast Cancer, their families and support networks, but also fellow firefighters of all ranks and the community of South Australia.

The MFS is pleased that the efforts and commitment of these two MFS firefighters have been recognised through the Australia Day Honours system. This accolade shines the spotlight on the emergency services sector, highlighting the integrity and virtues of our personnel.

Station Officer Clarke and Senior Firefighter Rogers will be presented with their AFSM at a ceremony later in the year.