Our Organisation

The South Australian Metropolitan Fire Service (MFS) is the primary provider of structural firefighting services to the State of South Australia. The MFS was established in 1862. The MFS is based in the city of Adelaide, population approximately 1.2 million and capital of South Australia. The MFS is a fully professional organisation, recognised for excellence of service provision and employs more than 1,000 staff across 37 stations (20 metropolitan and 17 regional) in South Australia.

In addition to providing 'best practice' emergency services we seek to be an efficient business that represents value to the South Australian Government and community. The MFS has adopted a focus on planning in order to identify and meet community and stakeholder needs. As an organisation the MFS seeks to excel in service, innovation and business efficiencies through effective Corporate Governance.

We are proud of our State and the services we provide and therefore seek to demonstrate leadership, prominence and confidently promote our State's services.

Our Corporate Strategic Plan will be updated online soon.

Our Organisational Structure. (PDF, 548KB)

MFS Organisational Doctrine (PDF, 1.26 MB)

MFS Adelaide Station photograph daytime